Delania set to release new album, ‘Overloaded’ on April 17

Photo by Nolwen Cifuentes / click for hi-res version
Spread the love

DELANILA’s forthcoming debut album, Overloaded, is set for release on April 17; preorder/pre-save the album HERE. DELANILA is the self-described cinematic experimental alternative project of multiple award-winning “notable cross-genre composer” (The New Yorker), performer and multimedia artist Danielle Eva Schwob, who has garnered international acclaim for her concert music, alt-rock songs, and film scores.

The music video for “The Philospher,” the new single by DELANILA, recently debuted and may be streamed and shared HERE. The video premiered at Clash, who called it a “crisp, seismic slice of pop-edged songwriting, but one that comes complete with a black, black heart.” Check out the premiere HERE and the audio single HERE.

Of the new single, Schwob notes, “‘The Philosopher’ is a blistering explosion of Internet-induced jealousy, inspired by the toxic underbelly of social media. I wrote it from the perspective of a troll, convinced of their own superiority and envious of the online successes of someone they consider undeserving. Its title is ironic. Because everyone on the Internet has an opinion and everyone is a philosopher.”

Previously released tracks from Overloaded include “Time Slips Away” (view video/share HERE) and “Turning On the TV,” (listen/share HERE). mxdwn calls the “Times Slips Away” video “a dramatically-choreographed clip that serves as the perfect vehicle to express the song’s theme of disconnection and isolation in our current digital age,” while Analogue praises the track as “a hypnotic, ghostly song whose musical mood matches the shadowy subject about which [Schwob] sings.” The video has also received numerous honors on the festival circuit, including the “Best Music Video” award at the Independent Shorts Awards and the Spotlight Film Awards, Semi-Finalist for “Best Music Video” at the Los Angeles Film Awards, Finalist for “Best Music Video” and “Best Cinematography” at the Indie X Festival, and an “Official Selection” at the LA Shorts Awards.

Written by Schwob and co-produced in London (Abbey Road) and New York with three-time Grammy winner David Bottrill (Tool, Muse, Peter Gabriel), the forthcoming album Overloaded is a reflection on the innate tension between humanity, technology and the strange connected-yet-disconnected lives we all live today. Orchestrated and performed largely by Schwob on a wide range of instruments both acoustic and electric, the record also features contributions from Grammy-winning engineer Emily Lazar (Beck, Sia), programmer Pearse MacIntyre, drummer Aaron Steele (Portugal. The Man), bassists Reuben Cainer (Animus Rexx) and Jordan Brooks (Albert Hammond Jr), violinist Jennifer Choi (John Zorn), keyboardist Nick Semrad and guitarist Adam Agati (both of Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles), among others.

Born in London and now dividing her time between Los Angeles and New York, Schwob has been called a “worldly musical chameleon” by Time Out New York, while The New York Times has praised her “hard-edged pop songs” and Consequence of Sound has called her music “dark and beautiful.” Her work has been featured by Lincoln Center, National Sawdust, BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn!, Chamber Music America, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the MATA Festival and more, earning honors from The Aaron Copland Fund, New Music USA, The American Composers Forum, ASCAP, CMNY, and BMI, among others. She was a Sundance Composers Lab Fellow, a Con Edison EtM Composer-in-Residence, an ACA Associate Artist in Residence and a MAP Fund Finalist.

Schwob has worked with artists including Jóhann Jóhannsson, Ben Folds, Tara Hugo & Philip Glass, Ido Zmishlany, The Pogues and David Simon, as well as on Darren Aronofsky’s mother!, Shakespeare in the Park, David Attenborough’s Conquest of the SkiesManhattan Night and Indignation. Her work has been performed and/or recorded by artists including the American Modern Ensemble, PUBLIQuartet, Janus Trio, pianist Vicky Chow, and cellist Michael Nicolas.

1. The Philosopher
2. I Get Bored
3. Never Enough
4. Turning on the TV
5. Interlude I: Signals
6. Fading On My Own
7. Time Slips Away
8. Interlude II: Overture
9. Overloaded
10. Always In My Head
11. Interlude III: People and Machines and the Space That’s In Between
12. It’s Been A While Since I Went Outside

Spread the love