Friday, June 14, 2024
HomeNewsMusic NewsAbbie Gardner Releases “Born in the City” Single March 25

Abbie Gardner Releases “Born in the City” Single March 25

NEW YORK (February 28, 2022) – Red Molly’s Abbie Gardner announces the release of her solo single, “Born in the City” on March 25. It’s off the album, DobroSinger, due out May 13. The song co-written with Will Kimbrough is inspired by growing up around NYC and loving all the beautiful diversity

“Born in the City” celebrates each other’s differences by bringing together a back-porch musical vibe with modern big-city chromatic slide guitar licks. Gardner says, “The contrasting combination is kind of like me – playing this traditionally male bluegrass instrument, but doing it as a woman, in Jersey City within view of the Empire State Building.”

The song opens to simpler times around a potluck party. Gardner says, “In school, we would celebrate everyone’s heritage by bringing in the food of your people. The variety was always impressive and sharing it all was a way to connect and experience the differences as something wonderful. It taught me to embrace differences over everyone trying to be the same. I consider myself very lucky to have grown up this way and would love for people to realize what they’re missing out on by only surrounding themselves with people who are just like them.”

Gardner traveled across the country as a solo act, but when everything shut down in 2020, she had the opportunity to make the record she’s always dreamed of making. Using a tiny closet recording studio in her home in the shadow of NYC, she gathered a collection of songs. She recorded them raw – singing and playing without a band, without separating the voice from her instrument, and without any studio tricks to hide behind. The result is intimate – you can hear every breath, every chuckle as if you are in the room with her.

Photo Credit: Tim Rice

DobroSinger Track Listing

  1. Down the Mountain
  2. Only All the Time
  3. See You Again
  4. Born in the City
  5. Three Quarter Time
  6. Cypress Tree
  7. Too Many Kisses
  8. Honky Tonk Song
  9. When We Were Kids
  10.  Those Memories of You
  11. You Belong to Me

Tour Dates

June 9th Nashville, TN – Songwriter Thursdays at the American Legion Post 82 (with Noel McKay)

August 3 Endless Mountain Music Fest, Corning, NY

July 8-10 New Bedford Folk Festival, New Bedford, MA

August 7 Bartlett Arboretum, Stamford, CT

GGM Staff


Most Popular