Thursday, February 29, 2024
HomeNewsMusic NewsAmy Stroup's fourth solo album, 'Since Frank,' out June 23

Amy Stroup’s fourth solo album, ‘Since Frank,’ out June 23

NEW YORK – May 4, 2023 – Nashville-based singer-songwriter Amy Stroup is known for her ability to tap into rich, emotional honesty and vivid storytelling; her new album, Since Frank, is out June 23, and covers a wide range of subjects, ultimately settling on what it means to find a way to be okay on the inside. Stroup announced the album’s pre-order today; within its 10 songs, she wrestles with the kind of heaviness—and reprieve—that lives inside all of us. The next single, “Just The Beginning,” is out tomorrow, and reframes how dead-end roads can lead to new, beautiful territory.

Since Frank finds a cohesive sound thanks to producer Chad Copelin (LANY, Broncho, Ben Rector) and his expert hand at transforming live tracking into an expansive finished product, with drips of overdubs and drum samples created by James McAlister (The National, Taylor Swift, Sufjan Stevens). These handmade elements frame a range of songs Stroup wrote with herself in mind—a change from the hundreds of songs she’s written for TV and film—she’s closing in on 1,000 sync credits, which include backing moments on How I Met Your Father, This Is Us, Shameless and Netflix’s upcoming Choose Love, among many others. According to Billboard Magazine, she is one of the most licensed women in music today, with her work in campaigns for Google, Lexus and Nike, to name a few.

Watch the Since Frank album trailer:

The self-proclaimed “song farmer” has released a handful of additional singles from the album, including “As Long As You’re With Me,” an ode to unconditional love featuring Andrew Belle, and “Break The Feeling,” which finds grounding and presence in the outdoors. Overall, the album begins with the lush strings of “Valley,” a stream of consciousness about how love can lift us from the depths of melancholy, while “Night Wave” struggles with intrusive thoughts. There is a yearning for a fresh start on “A New Life” (feat. Broncho), and the album ends with a resounding and hopeful message: “We’ll All Be Alright.”

“These songs feel like freeze frames of pivotal emotional moments of me finding a safe place to live from inside my own body,” Stroup says. “I’ve done a lot of experiential therapy, self-nurturing work and beyond, to get to a more true place to live from, and a lot of the songs capture the process and pivotal points on that continued journey.”

“[‘Break The Feeling’] has a grooving backline that supports her cohesive indie-pop sound throughout. Her vocals are velvety and authentic, pushing a fluid dreamscape sound.”
– Nashville’s Lightning 100

Since Frank finds Stroup doing what she does best: creating the kind of songs that transport listeners. She is centerting her singular voice, arriving four years after 2018’s Helen of Memphis. Stroup wrote the album’s songs with friends and producers in LA and Nashville, where she’s based, over the past few years—but the project came fully to life while she drove with her dog Frank to dusty Norman, Oklahoma, to record it.

“The drive from Nashville to Oklahoma City is tall Tennessee trees turned to desolate rice fields, ranches, and field grasses. It’s like my head tall with thoughts would exhale into the expansive wide open landscapes, all with Frank riding in the passenger seat, my highway companion for the 11-hour trip. My life has been better with Frank in it in all areas including making music,” Stroup says.

“I loved pausing from the normal way I write songs to a slower process,” Stroup says. “With these chosen Since Frank songs, it sometimes took three or four years to refine the song, instead of the one day that many collaborations require. It allowed me to see where patience and creativity took me.”

Stroup is a prolific collaborator, teaming up to record as both Danger Twins—you’ve likely heard their song, “Thing of Beauty,” on TikToks and Reels—and the playfully retro duo Sugar & The Hi-Lows. With a live show to match her recording prowess, she’s earned dates with the likes of Chris Stapleton, Kings of Leon, Kacey Musgraves, and Ingrid Michaelson, as well as festival appearances from Bonnaroo, Austin City Limits to Cayamo. Additionally, Stroup co-founded Milkglass Creative, which provides branding and design services for many A-list clients, including Chris Stapleton, Little Big Town, Thomas Rhett, and others.

Since Frank Track Listing:
1. Valley
2. Just The Beginning
3. As Long As You’re With Me
4. A New Life
5. Break The Feeling
6. Sleep In
7. We’ll All Be Alright
8. Night Wave
9. Sailboat
10. Self Talk

GGM Staff


Most Popular