Tuesday, July 16, 2024
HomeNewsMusic NewsHannah Jadagu Shares “Lose” (Lyric Video) From Aperture, Available This Friday, May...

Hannah Jadagu Shares “Lose” (Lyric Video) From Aperture, Available This Friday, May 19th

This Friday, May 19th, Hannah Jadagu (pron. juh-dah-goo) will release Aperture, her debut album, worldwide through Sub Pop. The full-length features 12 tracks, including “Say It Now,” “What You Did,” “Warning Sign,” “Admit It,” and today’s offering, the lyric video for new single “Lose,” which Stereogum calls “sharp and insistent.” Aperture was co-produced by Jadagu and Max Robert Baby at Greasy Studios Paris, mixed by Marcus Linon, and mastered by Dave Cooley at Elysian Mastering.

Jon Pareles of The New York Times says of the album, “She sings about being scared to get serious in the folk-to-grunge ‘Lose’; about trying to get someone to forget an ex in the lurching, psychedelia-tinged ‘Six Months’; and about trying to figure out where she stands in a relationship in ‘Say It Now,’ which expands from a winsome plaint into a stomping pop chorus…Jadagu has a singular sense of melody. Her phrases hopscotch around, full of angular leaps that also feel easy and conversational. Those melodies turn out to be equally effective whether they’re leaping across distorted guitar chords, suave keyboards or abstract soundscapes (see May 16th feature “Hannah Jadagu Turns Small Moments Into Big Pop Songs”).

Jadagu will celebrate the release of Aperture with a hometown release show at Brooklyn’s Baby’s All Right this Saturday, May 20th. Later this summer, she will also appear at Salt Lake City’s Mind The Gap Festival on August 26th. Jadagu has also announced a 19-date, headlining US tour for the fall of 2023 in support of Aperture, which begins Wednesday, September 6th in Philadelphia, PA at PhilaMOCA and ends Sunday, October 1st in Chicago, IL at Schubas. A current list of dates is below.

Sat. May 20 – Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right
Sat. Aug. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT – Mind The Gap Festival
Wed. Sep. 06 – Philadelphia, PA – PhilaMOCA
Thu. Sep. 07 – Washington, DC – Songbyrd
Fri. Sep. 08 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sat. Sep. 09 – Nashville, TN – DRKMTTR
Sun. Sep. 10 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade (Purgatory)
Tue. Sep. 12 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall – Upstairs
Wed. Sep. 13 – Dallas, TX – Club Dada
Thu. Sep. 14 – Austin, TX – Ballroom
Sat. Sep. 16 – Phoenix, AZ – Valley Bar
Sun. Sep. 17 – San Diego, CA – House of Blues Voodoo Room
Tue. Sep. 19 – Los Angeles, CA –  The Echo
Wed. Sep. 20 – San Francisco, CA – Popscene at Brick & Mortar
Thu. Sep. 21 – Sacramento, CA – The Starlet Room
Sat. Sep. 23 – Seattle, WA – Barboza
Sun. Sep. 24 – Portland, OR – Polaris
Mon. Sep. 25 – Boise, ID – El – Korah Shrine Basement
Wed. Sep. 27 – Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge
Fri. Sep. 29 – Lawrence, KS – The Bottleneck
Sun. Oct. 01 – Chicago, IL – Schubas

Preorders for Aperture are available from Sub Popselect independent retailers in North America, and the UK and EU. LP preorders will receive the limited Loser edition on red transparent vinyl (while supplies last).

Tracklisting:
1. Explanation
2. Say It Now
3. Six Months
4. What You Did
5. Lose
6. Admit It
7. Dreaming
8. Shut Down
9. Warning Sign
10. Scratch The Surface
11. Letter To Myself
12. Your Thoughts Are Ur Biggest Obstacle

GGM Staff

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular