Kathleen Edwards’ new album “Total Freedom” out today


August 14, 2020—Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Kathleen Edwards‘ highly anticipated new album, Total Freedom, is out today on Dualtone (an Entertainment One Company). Stream/purchase HERE.

In celebration of the release, Edwards will perform a special livestream concert this afternoon at 3:00pm ET/2:00pm CT broadcasting from her own coffee shop, bar and café, Quitters. Available to stream via Amazon Music’s Twitch as well as Edwards’ YouTube and Facebook pages, the event will also feature a conversation between Edwards and WXPN’s World Café host Raina Douris. Additionally, Edwards will be featured on “CBS This Morning” tomorrow speaking with Anthony Mason and performing songs from the new album as part of their “Saturday Sessions” series.

Co-produced by Edwards, longtime collaborator and guitarist Jim Bryson and Grammy Award-winning producer and musician Ian Fitchuk, the album marks a major return for Edwards, who took an extended step away from music in 2014.


“I had no desire to write, no desire to play,” she says of what she refers to as her “working sabbatical.” “It allowed me all the time and space I needed to even just enjoy listening to music again. There were so many times where, if I was thinking about my own writing or playing, my heart just wasn’t in it.” She continues, “I don’t want to write songs that are going to keep me in a dark place for two years. I didn’t have to carry a lot of the pressure of whatever course I was on previously…There’s a pressure sometimes to keep that ball rolling, and that’s what was so freeing about stopping altogether and starting again. I realized I’m entirely in control and deciding what my course of action is.”

Photo credit: Remi Theriault

Total Freedom is Edwards’ fifth-studio album since her 2003 debut and her first since 2012’s Voyageur. The album reached #39 on the United States’ Billboard 200 chart, #2 in Canada and received widespread critical acclaim—NPR Music praised, “Her songs feel as personal and lived-in as ever…Edwards has never seemed more confident in her own considerable gifts,” while Pitchfork declared, “Each song emphasizes change and risk, and Edwards never resorts to tired sentiments or platitudes about healing and hope” and Rolling Stone proclaimed, “an exquisite, widescreen beauty.” Now based in Ottawa, Ontario, Edwards is a five-time Juno Award nominee and winner of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize for Voyageur track, “A Soft Place to Land.” She has also had her music featured in several hit television shows including Grey’s Anatomy, One Tree Hill, Hart of Dixie, House and more.


1. Glenfern
2. Hard On Everyone
3. Birds On A Feeder
4. Simple Math
5. Options Open
6. Feelings Fade
7. Fool’s Ride
8. Ashes to Ashes
9. Who Rescued Who
10. Take It With You

The record is now available for pre-order, which includes limited-edition vinyl, CD and unique merch bundles including virtual meet-and-greets and Quitters coffee. Full information here.

GGM Staff


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.