Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeNewsShelby Lynne Set to Release ‘I Can't Imagine’ on May 5th

Shelby Lynne Set to Release ‘I Can’t Imagine’ on May 5th

Rolling Stone Country Hosts Exclusive Premiere of the Album’s Title Track Beginning Today, Listen Here:

Shelby Lynne will release her 13th full-length album, and first for Rounder Records, entitled I Can’t Imagine, on May 5th, 2015. Perhaps the most beautifully crafted and intensely affecting set of songs since her landmark I Am Shelby Lynne in 2000, I Can’t Imagine is powered by Lynne’s lustrous vocal performance, indelible, illuminative songwriting, and the sympathetic, versatile playing of her top-flight band. Rolling Stone Country hosts the exclusive premiere of the album’s title track beginning today, find it here:

Comprising 10 new songs written or co-written by the GRAMMY® winning singer-songwriter, I Can’t Imagine, reflects an array of Lynne’s influences – from Southern soul, Crescent City R&B, and California country & western to the ardent social consciousness of precursors like Woody Guthrie and even the roots ‘n blues vocalizing of Billie Holiday – all brought into clear focus by Lynne’s keen pop sensibility.
To record I Can’t Imagine, the Virginia-born, Alabama-bred Lynne – who has lived in Southern California for the last 16 years – returned to the South, to the intimate Dockside Studio in Maurice, Louisiana. As she has on four of her last five albums (the exception being the memorable 2008 Dusty Springfield tribute Just a Little Lovin’, helmed by the late Phil Ramone), Lynne produced the new album herself.  Besides five songs composed alone by Lynne, the album includes two tracks (“Love is Strong” and “Be in the Now”) co-written by Ron Sexsmith and three authored with Lynne’s band mates — “Better” and “I Can’t Imagine” with guitarist/keyboardist Pete Donnelly and “Sold the Devil (Sunshine)” with Los Angeles-based guitarist (and band leader) Ben Peeler. The other core band members here include veteran players, drummer Michael Jerome, and bassist Ed Maxwell.  Additionally, gifted singer/songwriter Clarence Greenwood, better known as Citizen Cope, added his striking vocals to three tracks.
Fiercely independent, forever authentic and thoroughly original, Shelby Lynne inhabits the same space in American music shaped by such like-minded musical renegades as Neil Young, Gram Parsons, Bobbie Gentry, Emmylou Harris, Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash. Fifteen years following the release of her breakthrough album I Am Shelby Lynne, (recently reissued by Rounder) she remains an artist in full creative command.  Shelby Lynne’s I Can’t Imagine is an inspired work of purity and depth, sure to be one of 2015’s most essential recordings.
Tour dates will be announced soon.
Pre-order Shelby Lynne – I Can’t Imagine

Shelby Lynne  – I Can’t Imagine Track List:
          1.   Paper Van Gogh (3:22)
          2.   Back Door Front Porch (4:31)
          3.   Sold the Devil (Sunshine) (4:08)
          4.   Son of a Gun (5:19)
          5.   Down Here (4:57)
          6.   Love Is Strong (3:44)
          7.   Better (4:32)
          8.   Be In The Now (3:28)
          9.   Following You (3:42)
          10.  I Can’t Imagine (3:04)

Source:  Press Release

Guitar Girl Magazine



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular