Tuesday, June 25, 2024
HomeNewsMusic NewsIreland's CAT DOWLING releases 'All That I Can Do' single. Full 'Animals'...

Ireland’s CAT DOWLING releases ‘All That I Can Do’ single. Full ‘Animals’ album out now

Dublin’s Cat Dowling has released ‘All The I Can Do’, the fourth single from her new ‘Animals’ LP, released digitally on January 28 via Forever In Financial Arrears Records (FIFA Records).

While a dance song, ‘All That I Can Do’ is also an intimate declaration of love. Cat Dowling notes, “All that I can do is give you my love” the songs opening line captures the meaning of this song. “Love is the greatest we can offer anyone and that includes ourselves”.

The new 11-track long-player was produced by Gerry Horan with Dowling as co-producer, and mixed by Ger Mcdonnell (The Cure, U2, Van Morrison, Martha Wainwright, Shane McGowan, Sinead O’Connor), This album was partially recorded at Crossroads Studio in her native Kilkenny with support from Ireland’s Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sports and Media.

Lauded as one of the most wonderful and evocative vocalists in Irish contemporary music, Dowling’s beautifully dark pop songs and husky, achingly intimate vocals will grip you from the outset. The former Babelfish and Alphastates frontwoman creates well-crafted songs that inspire.

Earlier, Dowling released the singles ‘Animals’‘Freedom and ‘Trouble’, the video for which was created by BAFTA award-winning director Fergal Costello, recalling a dark, comedic and violent tale set outside of 1981 Belfast.

In 2013, Dowling debuted with ‘The Believer’ LP, ranked in numerous ‘Best of Year’ music polls, including The Sunday Times. The title track featured in the second series of ‘Banshee’, produced by Alan Ball (Six Feet Under, American Beauty, True Blood) and the ‘Witches of East End’ TV series, featuring Julia Ormond. The song ‘Somebody Else’ was also used in ‘My name is Emily’. Cat has also lent vocals on many collaborative projects, including for ABC’s ‘How To Get Away With Murder’ with Emmy-winning actress Viola Davis.

FIFA Records is a steadily expanding label, who have continuously worked with exciting new Irish talent (Fight Like Apes, One Morning in August, Klubber Lang, Hope is Noise, Dae Kim, Lorraine Nash), as well as releasing material from more established names on the Irish indie scene, such as The Frank & Walters, Emperor of Ice Cream, August Wells, Power of Dreams and Whipping Boy.

Released on CD (the limited-edition cassette has sold out), the ‘Animals’ LP is also now also available via SpotifyApple Music and Bandcamp.

Produced by Gerry Horan
Co-produced by Cat Dowling
Recorded by Karl Odlum, Gerry Horan, Jed Parle
Mixed by Ger McDonnell
Mastered by Fergal Davis
Performed by Cat Dowling, Gerry Horan, Jeremey Hickey, Marja Gaynor.
Music and Lyrics written by Cat Dowling
‘Animals’ video by Marc Corrigan

1. Animals
2. All That I Can Do
3. Trouble
4. Freedom
5. Bullets
6. I Wanna Dance
7. The Fire
8. I Never Knew
9. In the Dark
10. Is This Love
11. Let Love Be

Keep up with Cat Dowling 
Website | Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter | Instagram | Soundcloud | YouTube | Spotify | Apple Music

GGM Staff


Most Popular